The Republic of Moldova is a full member of the regional metrology organization COOMET, whose activity is internationally recognized.

COOMET is an organization of cooperation of official metrology institutions from the Eastern and Central European countries and was founded in June 1991. In May 2000 the organization was renamed in “Euro-Asian Cooperation of State Metrology Institutions”.

At the moment, the following countries are members of COOMET: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Cuba, Germany, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kirgizstan, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Lithuania, the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation, Romania, Slovakia, Tajikistan, Turkey, Uzbekistan and the Ukraine.

The main activity of COOMET is represented by the cooperation on the following dimensions: physical measurement standards, legal metrology, accreditation and quality management systems, information and training.

The specialists of the National Institute for Metrology, during the joint meetings with the COOMET colleagues, are involved in a continuous exchange of knowledge and experience. The capacities of INM specialists to perform measurements are well known. Due to the fact that the science of metrology has advanced vertiginously lately, together with the technical progress, the requirements for the specialized institutes’ activities have become stricter. The National Institute for Metrology from the Republic of Moldova is a young organization and had to make efforts from the start in order to catch up with other similar institutes.

Baner metrologie aplicata
Baner metrologie legala